Posted by: dreamcatalyst | March 19, 2007

Building Strong Teams Using the 4 Domains

Each of the 34 Strengths falls within one of 4 domains.Relating, Impacting, Thinking and Striving.

It can be very insightful to chart each of your strengths and look at your overall profile.
It is also an effective method to employ when building teams. If after analyzing your strengths profile you notice that you have only thinking and striving themes, it would be beneficial to recruit additional team members with impacting and relating themes.


The 4 Strength Domains


Relating Themes (Working with People)

Harmony, Communication, Empathy, Includer, Individualization, Relator, Responsibility


Impacting Themes (Influencing People)

Command, Competition, Developer, Positivity, Maximizer, Woo


Striving Themes (Working Harder)

Achiever, Activator, Belief, Significance, Discipline, Adaptability, Focus, Restorative, Self-Assurance


Thinking Themes (Working Smarter)

Analytical, Arranger, Consistency, Connectedness, Deliberative, Futuristic, Ideation
Input, Intellection, Learner, Context, Strategic

StrengthsFinderTM, The Gallup School of Management, ©1999.


Below are the profiles of two men that I’m Strengths coaching.

James- Futuristic, Strategic, Includer, Belief, Communication
Thinking, Thinking, Relating, Striving, Relating
Thinking 2, Relating 2, Striving 1 Impacting 0

James is strong in Thinking/Relating themes, but he has no Impacting themes.

Allan- Woo, Positivity, Adaptability, Belief, Includer
Impacting, Impacting, Striving, Striving, Relating
Impacting 2, Striving 2, Relating 1, Thinking 0

Allan is strong in Impacting/Striving themes, but he has no thinking themes. Allan and James are collaborating on film and television projects. Is this a good match? They seem to be an excellent match as far as balancing each other out. They enjoy working together. Allan just mentioned today how he and James seemed to make a good pair. Of course there are many other ingredients involved in making a great team, but knowing your strengths domain profile is a good start.

Do you know how your strengths interplay with others in your life?

I would love to help anyone interested in knowing more about the implications and applications of their strength domain profile. Just write me a note. Tim

Responses

  1. Tim, I bought StrengthsFinder 2.0 about 3 weeks ago, and I have not been able to use it because there is some sort of security conflict with WinXP on their site. A tech support person told me they were aware of this but that they don’t know how to fix it. Are you aware of any tweaks that I should do with Windows in order to have access to the assessment? Thanks.
    Mark

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you’re having troubles. I never ran into any problem using XP. Hmmmmm. Any pop-up blockers? Norton Anti-Virus? Spam Blockers? Disable them all and try again…I wish I could be more help. Take care

  3. Hi Tim,
    I did StrengthsFinder 2.0 last night and below are my strengths.

    Futuristic
    Learner
    Self-assurance (strange because sometimes i’m not so sure of myself!)
    Ideation
    Individualisation

    Could you advise on what these means and what kind of careers can i apply my strength domains in?

    I’m very new to this whole premise of Strengths so I hope you could provide some insight into this area.

    Thank you so much!

    Cheers,

    Olivia

  4. Good question Olivia. I can’t respond fully in this format, so email me at my email listed in my profile if you’d like to continue the discussion. Cheers. Tim

  5. Hi!

    My top 5 strengths are:

    Individualization
    Developer
    Empathy
    Restorative
    Relator

    I would love to know the different types of jobs that go well with these strengths. According to your domain categories I have 3 Relating Themes, 1 Impacting Theme, and 1 Striving Theme.

    Thank you so much in advance for your response. I was really hoping for more career direction. I got my degree in psychology and was debating on whether to go back and get my Master’s. I was wondering if that would be a good career according to my strengths and if not, what would be.

    Thanks!
    Kelly

  6. Hi Kelly. You ask a great question. If you would like a detailed response, please email me at the address on my profile page or visit my website and look for contact information.

    Regards,

    Tim

  7. I work for Best Buy, as a supervisor, and we all have access as leadership to be able to take thie quiz.

    That being said, I did a search to find more information on the Strengths, trying to find a definition of terms again. I had a printout, but it’s nice to be able to access it at home. I suppose I may pick the book up today anyway.

    Anyway, my 5 themes are:

    Context
    Intellection
    Input
    Learner
    Ideation

    I have all five strengths in Thinking! I can’t believe it, but they all make sense when I read them out over a year ago…

    Of all the people I’ve talked to at work almost all of them are spread out over the 4 domains, yet mine is so focused.

    I’m curious if, in your experience, it’s often that many people get all 5 in the same category?

  8. Hi Tim,

    I took Strength Finder 1.0 since it came with the recorded book I am listening to. I was not surprised by the results, but I would really appreciate your help in distilling how I can better maximize these 5 themes. After listening to the book, I was relieved, because I had been using the strategies for weakness compensation for sometime (especially partnership). I have 4 degrees and thrive when working independently in a quiet environment when I can focus and maximize my day. I am an aerospace project manager and have 20 years experience (but no education in aerospace, per se). My themes are: (1) strategic, (2) maximizer, (3) learner, (4) achiever, (5) analytical. I would appreciate any guidance you can provide! My manager (a vice president) is trying to mold me now, and I don’t like it. Sharon


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

